My husband said to me the other night, “when are you going to actually start this food blog of yours?” What??? It isn’t normal to have an imaginary blog that you take photographs for while writing posts in your head? I think he was just getting tired of waiting to eat as our dinner posed for its close up. Whatever the reason, it finally gave me the kick I needed to get this blog out of my head and onto the Internets.

I’ll let go of my worry of not posting frequently enough or of caving to the pressure and my own perfectionist tendencies. Instead, I’ll just close my eyes and jump in.

So, what was my husband itching to dig into the other night? Stuffed zucchini, sweet corn from a farm just up the road, and seared local yellowfin tuna.

the star of the show

OK, it really was mostly the tuna – simply marinated and perfectly seared on the grill, but the zucchini turned out to be much tastier than I expected, so I will give you my rendition here.

Stuffed Eight-Ball Squash

Others have posted stuffed squash recipes, but I couldn’t resist making this one my own. Using olive oil, this recipe is a vegetarian version, but if you would like to add ground meat or sausage, I’m sure it would work beautifully.

2 eight-ball zucchini
1 tsp. bacon drippings (or olive oil)
2 sm. onions – medium dice
2 fresh garlic cloves – minced
1 anaheim pepper, most seeds removed – diced
1/2 tsp. cumin
1/2 tsp. coriander
~1 c. brown rice
1 medium tomato – medium dice
1 T. cilantro
1/2 T. basil, sliced into ribbons (I used a mixture of thai and purple)
salt and pepper
olive oil

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

Slice the tops from zucchini and save to use as a lid. Use a spoon to scoop out the flesh – dice and reserve. Season the inside of the zucchini with salt and pepper.

Heat bacon drippings or olive oil in a pan and sauté onions, garlic, and peppers. Add cumin and coriander and heat until fragrant. Add diced zucchini, season with salt, and cook ~2 min. Add tomato and cook ~2 more minutes. Add in brown rice and toss until combined. Remove from heat and add basil and cilantro. Stuff zucchini with the rice mixture, top with zucchini caps, and drizzle with a little olive oil. Add some water or broth to bottom of pan, set zucchini in middle and bake for ~ 1 hour.

